Case Study
Supersonic 发行游戏 Giant Wanted 登顶 Android 游戏排行榜首位

Megatouch 是一家位于中国成都的游戏开发公司,过去 2-3 年里,在这个充满活力的城市涌现了一批专注于超休闲游戏的小型开发团队,Megatouch 就是其中一员。

在 Supersonic 的帮助下,他们的最新产品 Giant Wanted 顺利成长为一款全球热门游戏。尽管早期的原型产品在降低 CPI、提高游戏内指标方面经历了一番波折,但他们坚持打磨完善,最终让游戏荣登 Android 端榜首,并同时取得 iOS 端第三名的好成绩。

下面请听 Megatouch 创始人 Wei Zhang 的讲述,谈谈他如何通过与 Supersonic 的合作,克服重重困难,让 Giant Wanted 登顶游戏排行榜首位。

中国最早一批超休闲游戏开发者

我的游戏制作生涯始于 SupertapX ,它是中国最早从事超休闲游戏开发的公司。在我任职期间,我们发布了一款名为 Tappy Shots 的游戏并大获成功,这充分证明中国市场已经准备好迎接超休闲游戏的到来。目睹超休闲游戏有望成为主流热门的潜力后,我萌发了创办个人游戏工作室的想法。对于我们这样的小团队来说,超休闲游戏是一个不错的选择,因为它的试错成本低,投入周期短,不像其他游戏类型需要投入数月甚至数年的时间和资源。

Megatouch 成立后,逐步扩展为一个 15 人的团队,并发布了 3 款超休闲游戏。之后,我们萌生了新游戏了 Giant Wanted 的思路。

头脑风暴带来绝佳思路

Giant Wanted 源自一次团队头脑风暴会议。一开始,我们打算开发一款新的射击游戏,涉及到近距离爆破穿墙的元素。这时我们的一位程序员提出加入一个巨人,用户需要通过炸开墙和建筑物来瞄准巨人。这个概念让整个团队都为之一振。

于是我们制作了一个原型,并与 Supersonic 一道进行了测试。结果如下:

  • CPI :0.41 美元
  • D1 用户留存率:13%
  • D0 游戏时间:250 秒

尽管测试的 CPI 偏高,但 Supersonic 看到了我们游戏概念中的潜力,并着手将这一概念打磨完善。我们与 Supersonic 团队密切合作,在专注降低 CPI 的同时,也尤其注意提升用户留存指标。

不断打磨,提升用户体验

我们与 Supersonic 团队交流了游戏改进思路,并尝试了多个不同玩法来提高用户参与度,但 CPI 仍有较大波动。例如,在某个早期版本中,用户通过水平移动摄像头来瞄准巨人,基于这种玩法的广告素材 CPI 为 1 美元,远高于一开始的 0.41 美元。

后来,Supersonic 广告创意团队建议我们在游戏中借鉴成功的广告素材元素——由狙击手对巨人进行击杀,我们便参考了这一点,让用户扮演狙击手,并采用了与广告素材相似的美术设计和射击角度。此外,以往我们也成功打造过几款超休闲射击游戏,这方面的经验也可以应用于 Giant Wanted中,因此我们又打磨了核心玩法,以便玩家能够更轻松地发现并杀死巨人。

我们还希望进一步改善 KPI,于是 Supersonic ·团队深入研究了用户指标,发现在不同关卡之间的用户流失率很高,关卡的加载时间和 UI 设计都存在问题。根据这一分析,我们在改善游戏玩法的同时也打磨了游戏流程,从而创造了更好的用户体验,提升了游戏内指标。

尽管游戏需要进行大量修改,但整个修改过程都在 Supersonic 的帮助下变得快速而高效。由于超休闲游戏竞争激烈,趋势瞬息万变,因此速度极为关键。Supersonic 总能在第一时间提供反馈意见,以便我们对游戏进行调整,这大大加快了我们的进展,我们对此非常满意。

这之后,我们将重心放在了 A/B 测试上,并在游戏全球发布前进行了最后的优化。例如,把击杀镜头做成慢动作特写后,D1 用户留存提升至 29%。

用户留存提升至 37% 以上,登顶 Android 端游戏榜榜首

通过改进游戏玩法和操作界面,并进行一系列 A/B 测试, Giant Wanted在 iOS 端达到了如下指标:

  • CPI:0.29美元
  • D1 用户留存:37.8%
  • D7 用户留存:7.3%
  • D0 游戏时间:1060 秒

由于游戏 CPI 已降至可低成本进行规模获客的水平,且用户留存率远远高于原型的 13%,我们已经准备就绪。全球发布后,这款游戏很快就在游戏排行榜上占据了一席之地,取得了安卓端排名第一,iOS 端排名第三的好成绩。

持之以恒,终有收获

与 Supersonic 一起,我们克服了高 CPI 和低用户留存的挑战。Supersonic 团队总能迅速、精准地提供反馈意见,最终,我们共同设计出了一款精益求精的产品,广受玩家欢迎。

“Supersonic 团队总能迅速、精准地反馈意见。最终,我们共同设计出了一款精益求精的产品,广受玩家欢迎”

- Wei Zhang,Megatouch 创始人

从提供广告创意、帮助分析用户指标到提供修改建议,Supersonic 团队为我们的发展投入了大量精力。我们期待与 Supersonic 再度携手,为全球用户打造绝佳游戏体验。

 

Let's put these tips to good use

Publish your game with Supersonic

Case Study
Giant Wanted achieves #1 spot on Android with Supersonic

Megatouch is a game development studio based in Chengdu, China, and they’re among the rising tide of small developers focusing on hyper-casual in the past 2-3 years in the region. For their most recent title, Giant Wanted, they looked to Supersonic to help grow it into a hit. Though the early prototype presented the teams with challenges in lowering CPI and boosting in-game metrics, they persevered and made improvements that helped the game reach #1 on Android and #3 on iOS. 

Hear from Wei Zhang, Founder of Megatouch, about his experience partnering with Supersonic and overcoming the challenges to turn Giant Wanted into a chart-topper.

Among the first hyper-casual developers in China

I began my career in games working at SupertapX, which was one of the first hyper-casual development studios in China. While I was there, we published the game Tappy Shots, which achieved huge success and proved that the market in China was ready for hyper-casual games. Seeing the potential for hyper-casual games to become major, profitable hits in China inspired me to start my own studio. Hyper-casual is a good genre for small studios like ours because there’s not much risk involved. The cost of trial and error is low because these games are quicker to design and test, unlike investing months or years of time and resources into games in other genres.

Since establishing Megatouch, we’ve grown to a team of 15 and published 3 hyper-casual games. Then, we had the idea for Giant Wanted.

Brainstorming a giant idea

The concept behind Giant Wanted came to us during a team brainstorming session. Initially, we discussed a new shooter game involving blasting through walls at close range. Then, one of our programmers came up with the idea to include a giant that users would need to target by blasting through walls and buildings - the entire team was excited by the concept.

So we built a prototype and tested it with Supersonic - it had the following metrics:

  • $0.41 CPI
  • 13% D1 retention
  • 250s D0 playtime

The CPI - though on the higher end - was good enough for Supersonic to see the potential in our concept and move forward with building it out. Working closely with the entire team, we focused on decreasing CPI while boosting in-game metrics - retention, in particular.

Focusing on clarity and user experience

We exchanged ideas with the Supersonic team about game improvements and tried many different versions of gameplay to improve engagement - but CPI fluctuated. For example, an early version of our game had the user aiming at giants as the camera panned horizontally - the creative based on this gameplay had a $1 CPI, much higher than the $0.41 we started with.

Then the Supersonic creative team suggested using elements from the winning creatives in our gameplay. The successful creatives featured a sniper making a kill shot against a giant, and we used this to inform our build by having the user play as the sniper and shoot at the giants using similar art and camera angles. Since we’ve had success with building hyper-casual shooter games in the past, we felt we could apply our abilities to Giant Wanted and design another great shooter. So in addition to integrating the elements from the creative into our game, we polished the core gameplay and made the giants easier to spot and kill.

We wanted to improve KPIs further, so the Supersonic team took a deep dive into our user metrics and saw there was a high rate of user dropoff between levels. Investigating this further revealed that there were issues with load time and the UI. Combined with the gameplay improvements, smoothing the in-game flow based on this analysis helped create a better user experience, which boosted in-game metrics.

Though we needed to make many changes to the game, the entire iteration process was efficient and quick - Supersonic provided rapid feedback and we integrated it immediately. We really appreciated the speed at this stage, which is crucial in the competitive and fast-moving world of hyper-casual.

Next, we focused on A/B tests to make final optimizations before global launch. For example, we made the kill shot a slow-motion closeup, which increased D1 retention to 29%.

Boosting retention to over 37% and reaching #1 on Android

The gameplay and UI improvements, along with A/B tests, helped Giant Wanted achieve the following metrics on iOS:

  • CPI: $0.29
  • D1 retention: 37.8%
  • D7 retention: 7.3%
  • Playtime D0: 1060s

With CPI low enough to scale affordably and retention far higher than the 13% of the original prototype, we were ready to monetize and get to global launch. The game quickly scaled the charts, reaching #1 on Android and #3 on iOS.

Persistence pays off

Together with Supersonic, we overcame our initial challenges of high CPI and low retention. Their team provided quick, excellent feedback - we applied their ideas to design a polished, finished product together that users clearly love playing.

“Supersonic provided quick, excellent feedback - we applied their ideas to design a polished, finished product together that users clearly love playing”

- Wei Zhang, Founder of Megatouch

The input of the entire Supersonic team was important, from creatives that informed our build to the operations team that helped us analyze user metrics and suggest improvements. We look forward to working together with Supersonic again on our next game and create experiences that users across the globe can enjoy.

 

Let's put these tips to good use

Publish your game with Supersonic