Case Study
盘踞TOP100榜单超过一年的Join Clash,再度登顶下载量巅峰

Join Clash是游戏公司Freeplay发行的第一款超休闲游戏,该工作室全球范围内,在美国、俄罗斯等均设有办公室。Join Clash(加入和冲突)通过和Supersonic合作发行,iOS和安卓双端排名飙升至第2位,并连续一年蝉联全美TOP100榜单和日韩榜单TOP20的卓越成绩!全球下载量突破2.19亿!

这一优异成绩是如何实现的呢?请Freeplay席游戏制作人Evgeniy Sidorov为大家分享。

进入游戏行业

在进入Freeplay工作之前,我在白俄罗斯一家小型IT公司从事过几个休闲游戏项目,主要专注于非游戏应用。一段时间后,我跳槽到Freeplay,利用他们的经验和支持,组建了一个专业团队同成员一起,我们开始尝试超休闲游戏开发。

与Supersonic合作,突破各项目标

我们通过ironSource聚合平台开发了游戏Join Clash,并取得了可喜的成绩。特别值得一提的是,Join Clash的CPI为0.22美元,LTV为0.30美元,同时在Facebook上投放的视频广告IPM表现也很出色。

尽管拥有熟练的用户获取和广告变现团队,我们仍然认为自己可以更快推进全球发布策略,并能够通过合作以取得更广泛也更出色的成绩。并且,在得知Supersonic拥有像ironSource这样的大型广告平台的支持后,来自Supersonic的合作提议对我们而言变的更具吸引力。

尽管拥有熟练的用户获取和广告变现团队,我们仍然认为自己可以...通过合作以取得更广泛也更出色的成绩。”

- Evgeniy Sidorov, Freeplay首席游戏制作人

LTV5倍提升,跻身亚太榜单TOP20

与Supersonic合作之初,我们有两个主攻方向。

  • 优化游戏本身
  • 优化广告变现策略与获客策略

Supersonic从合作开始就帮助我们进行游戏功能改进,这些改进包括:采用新用户界面,加强升级系统,并为每次升级加入新的武器和护盾,调整难度,以及添加其他元数据。

然后是广告变现方面的改进,包括增加奖励广告位、增加A/B模拟测试插屏广告频率、优化现有的瀑布流设置,以及引入LevelPlay应用程序内竞价解决方案。

有了上述所有支持,我们就有时间专注于游戏的其它部分,并改善总体绩效和体验。很快,我们的LTV就翻了一番以上,并达到了超休闲游戏通常难以达到的绩效基准。游戏上线后,增长势头猛烈,截止到2月中旬,日均下载量都保持在100万左右,特别是日本地区的LTV增长到1.15美元,且荣登日韩榜单TOP20。

突破痛点,充分测试

Supersonic除开发游戏的本职工作外,同样重视创意方面的完善与投入。Freeplay先前已经有了些视频创意素材,在Facebook上的CPI表现并不理想。因此Supersonic决定对其进行进一步优化。为此,Supersonic制作了几十个不同的视频创意及一些试玩广告和交互式落地页。

Supersonic的试玩广告产生了更多更高质量的下载量,他们巨细无遗的创意制作和测试工作带来了不错的结果。实际上,在产品发布的那个周末,试玩广告达到了IPM38的优异成绩,尤其是在美国,iOS上每天就能达到数万次的下载量。

Supersonic随后不断更新其试玩广告,以改善IPM,并完善延展其生成的广告创意。迭代优化后,不仅吸引了超过430万的安卓DAU,亚太地区表现出色,成功保持在该地区安卓TOP20。我们从合作中了解到,Supersonic对待广告创意的方式与其对待游戏一样,会制订深思熟虑的策略,进行广泛的测试,将来源于实践的经验,完美应用于实践。





与Supersonic的合作后,游戏的LTV和广告创意都得到提升,Join Clash更是快速增长,一路过关斩将,成功跻身美国游戏排行榜第二位,并在整个过程中均保持了可观的利润。

合作成果展示分享

与Supersonic合作的另一个重大收获是Join Clash取得持续成功。众所周知,超休闲游戏难以长久维持其上升动力。但自2020年3月,Join Clash面世起,始终在iOS和安卓双端商店的TOP100榜单中占据一席之地。特别是在亚太地区Join Clash表现卓越,排行亚太榜单TOP20的同时,日本LTV也提高到了1.15美元。

分享即关怀

“通过与Supersonic的合作,我们能够充分利用现金流、经验和资源。即使Freeplay内部拥有自身的用户获取团队和广告素材团队,Supersonic所展示出来的透明、协作的方法,也让我们在首款游戏的发布过程中受益甚多。在与Supersonic的第一次对话中,我们进行多轮思想交流,得益于我们的用户获取/广告变现团队提供的宝贵意见,最终使得Supersonic为其广告网络合作伙伴增加了新的流量渠道。同时,Supersonic团队也向我们证明:一家拥有强大资金支持和丰富经验的游戏发布合作伙伴,将会带来何等价值。”Evgeniy Sidorov如是说道。

#2

iOS and Android in the US

219M

下载量

4倍

LTV

4.3M

安卓日活

 

Let's put these tips to good use

Publish your game with Supersonic

Case Study
Join Clash reaches #2 in the US and doubles LTV with Supersonic

Join Clash is the first hyper-casual game by Freeplay, a gaming company with offices in the US, Belarus, and Russia. After partnering with Supersonic, Join Clash skyrocketed to #2 on the iOS and Android app stores and stayed in the top 100 charts in the US for 6 months, with more than 70M installs worldwide. 

Hear from Evgeniy Sidorov, Lead Game Producer at Freeplay, on the steps he took with Supersonic to reach the top of the charts.

Getting into gaming

Before Freeplay, I worked on several casual gaming projects in a small Belarus IT company that focused mainly on non-game apps. Sometime after, I moved to Freeplay, and using their experience and support, I gathered a team of professionals - together, we started to experiment with hyper-casual game development. 

Enter: Supersonic Studios

We already worked with ironSource’s mediation platform for our game Join Clash and enjoyed some promising results. In particular, Join Clash’s $0.22 CPI, $0.30 LTV, and high IPM for a video ad we ran on Facebook, really stood out.  

When Supersonic contacted us, we felt that a partnership could be effective. Even though we had our own skilled UA and ad monetization teams, we still felt that we could move quicker with our global launch strategy and achieve bigger and better results in the long term by working together. And, of course, knowing that Supersonic had the backing of a big network like ironSource made the offer to collaborate even more appealing.

"Even though we had our own skilled UA and ad monetization teams, we still felt we could ... achieve bigger and better results in the long term by working together."

- Evgeniy Sidorov, Lead Game Producer at Freeplay

Doubling LTV and reaching #2 in the charts

When we kicked things off with Supersonic, the two main focuses were:

  • Game improvements
  • Optimizing the monetization and UA strategies

Supersonic helped us work on the game’s features from the get-go. These improvements included a new and improved UI, enhancing the upgrade system and adding new weapons and shields per upgrade, tweaking the difficulty, and adding additional meta. 

Then there were the monetization improvements, which included adding rewarded placements, A/B testing the interstitial frequency, optimizing our existing waterfall setup, and introducing automation with LevelPlay in-app bidding. With all that support, we had time to focus on other parts of the game and improve the overall performance and experience. 

It didn’t take long for us to more than double our LTV and to reach performance benchmarks that aren’t normally seen for hyper-casual games.

Testing, testing, and more testing to achieve an IPM of 38

On top of working on the game itself, Supersonic was equally focused on the creative side. We already had a great video that generated a low CPI on Facebook, but Supersonic decided to optimize it even further. To do this, they created dozens of different videos, a few playable ads, and interactive end cards.

Ultimately, Supersonic’s playable ad generated many more, higher-quality installs. The results of their thorough creative production and testing were impressive. In fact, during the launch weekend, the playable ad generated an IPM of 38 and tens of thousands of installs each day for iOS in the US specifically.

Supersonic then continued to constantly update their playables in order to improve the IPM and scale the creatives they generated. We understood that Supersonic treats creatives the same way they treat their games - with carefully thought-out strategies, extensive testing, and a deep understanding and application of best practices. 





The amazing work that we did together with Supersonic to improve both the game’s LTV and the creatives resulted in rapid growth that took us all the way to the #2 spot in the U.S. charts while maintaining significant profit along the entire way.

Stability, revenue, and scale

Another big win from the partnership with Supersonic is the sustained success of Join Clash. While hyper-casual games have the reputation of quickly losing momentum, we’ve been able to hold a spot among the top 100 apps across both app stores since we launched in March 2020. (As of August, we were #17, in fact.)

Knowledge-sharing is caring

Working with Supersonic gave us access to cash flow, experience, and resources. But, it wasn’t entirely a one-way street. Even with an internal UA and creative team on our side, Supersonic’s transparent and collaborative approach helped us through the entire process of our first game launch. In our first conversation with Supersonic, we had a back-and-forth of ideas, with our UA/monetization team providing valuable insight which resulted in Supersonic adding new sources to their ad network partners. Meanwhile, the Supersonic team proved to us the value of having a publishing partner with extensive finances and experience at their disposal.

#2

iOS and Android in the US

70M

Installs to date

2x

LTV

38

IPM