Case Study
Archers.io重获新生,决胜Supersonic巨星挑战赛

游戏开发公司Black Candy携Archers.io参加Supersonic巨星挑战赛,优胜后获得发行支持,成功将游戏打造为爆款!Bayasaglan Lkhamdorj于2018年在蒙古成立Black Candy,公司由8个人组成,已发行了包括Commuters(通勤者)在内的多款超休闲游戏。本期问您介绍,Bayasaglan是如何获得巨星挑战赛优胜,并与Supersonic合作,使其游戏进入美国应用排行榜TOP10的!

Black Candy介绍

在成为游戏开发者前,Bayasaglan在蒙古的一家软件公司工作了2年。2012年,他开始开发Facebook游戏,因为这类游戏当时非常流行。后来随着超休闲游戏开始得到越来越多人关注,他将业务重心转移到超休闲游戏开发上,并在2018年与Buyanzaya Battsagaan一起创办了Black Candy。他们二人相识超过10年,在一起创办Black Candy前,就是一所学校的同学,并在同一家公司工作过。事实上,Archers.io最初的创意就来自于Buyanzaya,随后他们通过与Supersonic合作将其打造成了一款出色的游戏。

将IO游戏超休闲化

Archers.io的概念来自另一款动作类IO游戏。IO游戏是多人游戏,玩家并不与现实世界的其他用户对战,而是同机器人对战。这些游戏通常拥有较长关卡,并有良好的游戏内指标,但适销性却是个隐患。我们想通过对游戏概念和机制进行改造,打造一款超休闲IO游戏。

他们将主角设定为弓箭手,他们会将箭射入其他靶环中,从而带给玩家内在满足感。并通过简化游戏并使其更容易上手,来进一步将游戏超休闲化,其后,他们开始在另一家发行商那里进行测试。Archers.io最初取得了很不错的适销性结果和游戏内指标,比如用户留存率和游戏时间。然而虽然进入到试发行阶段,却没能进行全球发行。

“我们仍然相信我们的游戏,并不打算放弃。我们从其他开发者那里得知Supersonic高透明度的信息共享及合作方式,深深吸引了我们。”

- Bayasaglan Lkhamdorj,Black Candy的联合创始人

Bayasaglan仍然相信他们的游戏,并不打算放弃。他们听说了Supersonic成功推出Stacky Dash(堆积冲刺)与Born2Play(天生玩家)的成绩。这两款游戏与他们有着相似的经历,在另一家发行商全球发行失败,但通过与Supersonic合作,取得了惊人的成绩。他们听其他开发者说过Supersonic在发行过程中透明化和信息共享的做法,十分心动。除了以上这些因素外,Supersonic巨星挑战赛的非凡魅力,也推动他们更努力并更快地去赢得最高奖项。

3次A/B测试 即可搞定一切

开始合作后,Supersonic建议运行游戏设计A/B测试,以改善游戏内指标和广告变现策略。

首次测试后,他们将游戏的关卡长度从2分钟缩短至1分钟。当每一关持续2分钟时,限制了游戏可以显示的广告数量,降低了ARPU和LTV。1分钟的持续时间则达到了最佳平衡点,既能显示更多广告并提高收入,同时也不会影响用户体验和其它游戏内KPI。缩短关卡持续时间也让游戏更接近超休闲游戏,因为这类游戏通常关卡时间较短。

“通过遵循Supersonic的建议,我们快速进入全球发行,并取得了出色成绩,比如在iOS上达到了美国市场的第7位,并在发行的第一个月内就实现了盈利。"

- Bayasaglan Lkhamdorj,Black Candy的联合创始人

Supersonic反馈到与其它顶级超休闲游戏相比,Archers.io的难度过高,因此在第二次A/B测试中,他们建议制作更简单的关卡,比如减少敌人数量。测试的目标是提高用户留存率和游戏时间等游戏内KPI。Bayasaglan他们成功地做到了这一点,D1用户留存率增加了2%,达到了40%。

最后一次A/B测试,效果最为显著,涉及到道具测试。例如防护罩和增速装置。在不同关卡上为用户提供这些道具,对用户留存率和游戏时间均产生了巨大的影响:

  • D1用户留存率从40%增加到47%
  • 游戏时间增加到750秒

完美对接的反馈闭环,游戏成功攀登榜单TOP7

Supersonic经常提出建议并迅速给出反馈。Bayasaglan听从建议后快速进入到全球发行阶段,并取得了出色成绩,如在iOS上进入到全美第七名,并在发行的第一个月内就实现了盈利。与Supersonic团队合作,通过他们的平台一起运行A/B测试非常简单,Bayasaglan很看重通过后台即可轻松获取各类信息的高透明度。他们甚至能够看到Supersonic是如何通过创建和测试各个版本广告创意来处理用户获取的。其视频版本迭代成功将CPI保持在0.19美元的低水平,并扩大了游戏的受众群。他们最初的用户群约有90%的男性,而现在用户群的男女比例几乎相同。

Bayasaglan与Supersonic达成了良好的合作关系,从合作中他们感受到Supersonic能够重视自己的意见和想法。同时他们也努力落实Supersonic团队的反馈,通过其帮助来改进自己的游戏。此外,Supersonic的透明度让他们能够获取更多数据,以便可以更快采取行动,并作出更明智的决定来优化游戏设计,以便助力游戏快速发行并取得成功。最终,Bayasaglan在Supersonic 巨星挑战赛中取得第二名,进一步改善了游戏内的各项指标,优化广告变现策略,并最终找到了Supersonic这个值得信赖的合作伙伴。

第7名

美国iOS榜

$0.19

CPI

47%

D1用户留存率

750s

游戏时间

 

Let's put these tips to good use

Publish your game with Supersonic

Case Study
Archers.io wins Supersonic Superstar competition after failing to launch with another publisher

Black Candy is a Mongolian game development studio established in 2018 by Bayasaglan Lkhamdorj. His company is now 8 people strong and they’ve published several hyper-casual games, including Commuters. After failing to launch with another publisher, Black Candy entered Archers.io into the Supersonic Superstars competition, and they worked together to turn it into a hit. Read on to learn more about how Bayasaglan partnered with Supersonic to get his game to the top 10 on the US app charts and win the Supersonic Superstars competition. 

From casual online games to hyper-casual

Before I started working as a game developer, I held a job in a software company in Mongolia for 2 years. In 2012, I began to develop Facebook games because they were very popular at the time. Then as hyper-casual games started to gain more traction, I shifted my focus to hyper-casual game development and started Black Candy with Buyanzaya Battsagaan in 2018. I’ve known Buyanzaya for over 10 years - we went to the same school and worked together in the same company before starting Black Candy together. In fact, Archers.io was his initial idea that we then grew into a full game with Supersonic.

Hyper-casualizing an IO game

The concept for Archer.io came from another IO game in the action category. IO games are multiplayer games, which instead of playing against other real-world users, players fight against bots. These games usually have lengthy levels and good in-game metrics, but marketability can be tough to crack. We wanted to make a hyper-casual IO game by adapting the concept and mechanics. 

We made the main characters archers who shoot arrows into other circles, which creates an inherently satisfying feeling. We further adapted the game to the hyper-casual genre by simplifying it and making it more accessible - then we began testing it with another publisher. Archers.io initially achieved promising marketability results and in-game metrics, like retention and playtime. We got as far as the soft launch stage, but then never made it to global launch.

"We still believed in our game and weren’t ready to give up. What other developers said about Supersonic’s transparency and emphasis on sharing information really appealed to us."

- Bayasaglan Lkhamdorj, co-founder of Black Candy

We still believed in our game and weren’t ready to give up. We heard of Supersonic because of their success launching Stacky Dash with Born2Play, who like us didn’t get their game to global launch with another publisher, but after teaming up with Supersonic, achieved amazing results. What other developers said about Supersonic’s transparency and emphasis on sharing information really appealed to us. In addition to all of this, the Supersonic Superstars competition was a big draw for us, and we were driven to work harder and faster to win the top prize.

3 A/B tests to rule them all

Once we teamed up, Supersonic suggested running game design A/B tests to improve both in-game metrics and our monetization strategy.

The first test cut the game’s level length from 2 minutes to 1 minute. When each level lasted 2 minutes, it restricted the amount of ads that we could show and lowered ARPU and LTV. A level duration of 1 minute was the sweet spot that let us show more ads and boost revenue without affecting the user experience and other-in-game KPIs. Reducing the level duration also made the game feel more like a hyper-casual game, which usually has shorter levels. 

"Following Supersonic's recommendations helped us get through to global launch efficiently and achieve great results, like reaching #7 in the US on iOS and becoming profitable within the first month of launch.

- Bayasaglan Lkhamdorj, co-founder of Black Candy

Compared to other top hyper-casual games, Supersonic felt Archers.io was too difficult, so for the second A/B test they suggested we try creating versions of levels that were easier, like those with fewer enemies. The goal of the test was to improve in-game KPIs like retention and playtime, which we succeeded in doing - D1 retention increased 2% to 40%.

The final A/B test - and the one that made the biggest impact - involved testing boosters, like shield and speed boosters. Giving users these add-ons at different levels had a dramatic effect on retention and playtime:

  • D1 retention increased from 40% to 47% 
  • Playtime increased to 750s

A seamless feedback loop to reach #7 in the charts

Supersonic made frequent suggestions and provided feedback quickly - following their recommendations helped us get through to global launch efficiently and achieve great results, like reaching #7 in the US on iOS and becoming profitable within the first month of launch. Working with the team to run the A/B tests together through their platform was very easy, and we valued the transparency of the insights we accessed through the dashboard. We were even able to see how Supersonic handled the UA side by creating and testing many versions of creatives. Their video iterations managed to keep CPI low at $0.19 and expanded our audience so it didn’t skew so heavily male - our original user base was 90% male, and now we’re closer to 50/50 male and female.

Working with Supersonic was a great partnership that felt like our opinions and ideas were just as important as their recommendations. We were committed to implementing the Supersonic team’s feedback and improving our game with their help, but we also brought our own ideas and suggestions to the table. Plus, their transparent approach gave us greater access to data so we could move more quickly and make more informed decisions about game design optimizations that helped our game launch quickly and successfully. In the end, we placed 2nd in the Supersonic Superstars competition, improved our in-game metrics, optimized monetization, and found a true partner in Supersonic.

#7

iOS in the US

$0.19

CPI

47%

D1 retention

750s

Playtime

Let's put these tips to good use

Publish your game with Supersonic